Denmark and Iceland removed from travel corridors and added to quarantine list

Denmark, Slovakia, Iceland and Curacao are the latest countries to be removed from the UK’s travel corridor list, due to concerns over rising numbers of coronavirus cases in the destinations.

In addition, any Brits returning from those countries after 4am on Saturday 26th September will be required to quarantine for 14 days.

Secretary of State for Transport Grant Shapps announced the latest changes on Twitter.

He tweeted: “Data shows we need to remove DENMARK, SLOVAKIA, ICELAND, and CURACAO from the Travel Corridor list. If you arrive in the UK from these destinations after 4am this Saturday, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.

Reykjavik the capital city of Iceland above view from Perlan.

“We will not be adding any destinations to the Travel Corridor list this week. Remember: You MUST complete a Passenger Locator Form by law if you enter the UK. This protects public health and ensures those who need to are complying with self-isolation rules.

“Also please don’t forget that you MUST self-isolate (quarantine) when returning from a non-exempt country, or face fines which start at £1,000.”

He then added a link to UK government page with more information.

If you had a holiday booked to any of the countries removed from the list, we’ve got a fuller guide explaining what happens now, as the Foreign Office is changing its travel advice.

There are still some countries where Brits won’t need to quarantine after a holiday.

Holiday hotspots such as Italy, mainland Greece and Turkey continue to be open for Brits.

However, you should always check the latest FCDO advice for your chosen destination before planning, booking, or going on a trip, as during the pandemic these can change at short notice.


LuvNaughty | We're here to get you off The Lazy Days | Procrastinate right Latest Media News | Stay updated with us