Quarantine list: All the countries you can visit on holiday without self-isolating

With the volatile travel restrictions and entry requirements during the pandemic, knowing where you can actually go on holiday is confusing.

The Foreign Office currently advises against all but essential travel to a host of countries, with a requirement to self-isolate for 14 days if you return from one of these.

But what about the countries which don’t fall under this advice?

We’ve put together a list of all of the countries where Brits are currently allowed to travel without self-isolating on return, leaving out any destinations that have closed borders to tourists.

However, it’s not always that straightforward – some destinations actually require you to quarantine on arrival. 

To make things clearer, we’ve divided our list into two sections; destinations where no quarantine is needed either side, and destinations where you need to quarantine there but not on your return.

Check out the full list below…

No need to quarantine either side

Please note – although you won’t need to quarantine, some countries do ask that you provide proof of a negative Covid-19 test. You should always check the latest FCDO advice for your chosen destination before planning, booking or going on a trip.

These are based on direct travel from the UK – if you’re transiting, the rules may differ depending on where you are travelling through.

  • Antigua and Barbuda (some restrictions may apply)
  • Bermuda
  • Cambodia
  • Cuba
  • Cyprus
  • Dominica
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar (Except for Welsh residents who will need to self-isolate if returning)
  • Greece (not including Lesvos, Tinos, Serifos, Mykonos, Crete, Santorini and Zakynthos),
  • Italy
  • Madeira and the Azores (not including mainland Portugal)
  • San Marino
  • South Georgia & the South Sandwich Islands
  • St Lucia,
  • St Pierre and Miquelon
  • Sweden
  • Vatican City

Those travelling to Scotland from the Common Travel Area (the CTA includes Ireland, the Channel Islands and the Isle of Man) and have spent 14 days or less there will need to complete the passenger locator form, and complete their self-isolation period of 14 days – unless you are from an exempt country or territory.

No quarantine on return – but you’ll need to quarantine while there

Woman waiting for her flight

  • Anguilla
  • Barbados
  • Brunei
  • Canada
  • Estonia
  • Falkland Islands
  • Ireland (British nationals will need to restrict their movement)
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Mauritius
  • Norway
  • Seychelles (five days)
  • South Korea
  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Antarctica

This list is correct at the time of writing but may be subject to change. You should always check the latest FCDO advice for a destination before planning, booking or going on a trip.


LuvNaughty | We're here to get you off LiL VAPE | Home of the vapour Latest Media News | Stay updated with us The Lazy Days | Procrastinate right